Poem-“The Christmas Letter”


Today as I wrote my Christmas post cards with a cozy fire in my wood stove and the lights of my tree twinkling, I felt the need to write this poem. When I write a poem it usually just starts in my head..some words come to me and I have to write them down. Then sometimes only minutes later I have a new poem, the words just come out all playing around on paper until they settle into something that I think sounds right.

Usually when I write them I feel a rythym like they could be words to a song, this one I even sang a tune to while I wrote it. I was missing my sweetheart and that’s why I started it, but it soon became about all the people missing their sweeties who are away at war. I hope you share this link so others can read it here.

“The Christmas Letter”

Feelings of love that I want to share,
Written on paper saying I care.
My love in a letter sent far away,
Hoping you get it by Christmas day.

I give my love freely; I’ll write you this poem,
Tears on the paper say “I wish you were home”.
Please sweet angel upon the tree top,
Bring him home, make this heartache stop.

All that I wish for, my love be with me,
Instead of so far away, over the sea.
Memories of you holding me so tight
Kissing me softly, telling me goodnight.

I give my love freely; I’ll write you this poem,
Tears on the paper say “I wish you were home”.
Please sweet angel upon the tree top,
Bring him home, make this heartache stop.

The best Christmas present would be you in my arms,
Home with me and away from harm.
Sending this letter with my love for you,
Hoping you’ll know that my heart is true.

I give my love freely, I’ll write you this poem,
Tears on the paper say “I wish you were home”.
Please sweet angel upon the tree top,
Bring him home, make this heartache stop.

Trying to be happy I put up the tree,
Hanging the ornaments you’ve given to me.
He is my true heart and I love him dear,
Please Christmas angel, bring him back here.

© Mary McAndrew 12/15/09

Leave a Reply

